Welcome to Conference Reports!

This is the place to find out what SELCO staff and your library colleagues are learning, seeing, or doing at various conferences, including reports from scholarship recipients.  The most recent conference reports are listed first.

The 2018 Public Library Association Conference (PLA) — March 20-24:  Conference Website

Scholarship Recipients Reports:  Julie Clinefelter, Director – Austin Public Library  |  Tricia Wehrenberg, Youth Services Librarian – Winona Public Library


The 2018 ALA Midwinter Meeting — February 9-13: Conference Website

Scholarship Recipient Report:  Heather Acerro, Head of Youth Services – Rochester Public Library

The 2018 Conference About Libraries & Literacy (C.A.L.L.) — February 1: Conference Website

Staff Report:Tyler Irvin, Technology Support Librarian – SELCO

The 2017 Information and Technology Educators of Minnesota (ITEM) Conference — October 5-6:  Conference Website

Scholarship Recipient Report:  Anne Marie Griffin, Media Specialist – Gibbs Elementary School of Rochester  |  Jill Nysse, Media Specialist – Winona Middle School  |  Stacie Alison, Media Specialist – Harriet Bishop Elementary School of Rochester

The 2017 Minnesota Library Association Conference — October 5-6: Conference Website

Scholarship Recipient Report:  Angela Gustafson, Assistant Director/Children’s Librarian – Zumbrota Public Library  |  Nicole Miller, Director – Cannon Falls Library  |  Shari Carlson, Director – Hokah Public Library

SELCO Staff Report:   Becky Lashinski  |  Cheryl Hill  |  Cindy Baker  | Donovan Lambright  |  Jennifer Harveland  |  Krista Ross  |  Mike Flores  |  Pam O’Hara  |  Reagen Thalacker  |  Tyler Irvin

The 2017 Cradle to Career Network Convening — October 3-5: Conference Website

Scholarship Recipient Report:  Audrey Betcher, Director – Rochester Public Library

 The 2017 Association of Rural & Small Libraries Conference — September 7-9: Conference Website

Scholarship Recipient Report:  Ashley Dress, Director – Caledonia Public Library  |  Beth Anderson, Director – Preston Public Library  |  Debara Smith, Director – Brownsdale Public Library  |  Tara Johnson, Director – Lanesboro Public Library

WordCamp Minneapolis / St Paul 2017 — August 4-6: Conference Website

SELCO Staff Report: Terry Glidden


The 2017 OverDrive Digipolooza Conference — August 2-4:  Conference Website

Scholarship Recipient Report:  Kim Edson, Head of Readers Services – Rochester Public Library

SELCO Staff Report: Tyler Irvin

The 2017 MLA Institute for Leadership Excellence (MILE) Retreat — May 2-5:  Conference Website

Scholarship Recipient Report:  Patti Bross, Director – Lake City Public Library

The 2017 Customers of SirsiDynix Users Group, Inc. Annual Conference — April 11-13:  Conference Website

SELCO Staff Report:  Donovan Lambright  |  Tyler Irvin |  Becky Lashinski



cilnew-medComputers in Libraries 2017 Annual Conference — March 28-30:  Conference Website

SELCO Staff Report:  Donovan Lambright  |  Mike Flores

The 2017 Annual Library Association Midwinter (ALA MW) Conference — January 20-24:  Conference Website

Scholarship Recipient Report:  Deni Buendorf, Children’s Librarian – Buckham Memorial Library  



The 2016 Library Marketing and Communication Conference — November 16-17:  Conference Website

Scholarship Recipient Report:   Karen Lemke, Head of Marketing and Community Engagement – Rochester Public Library



ARSL logoThe 2016 Association of Rural & Small Libraries (ARSL) Conference — October 27-29:  Conference Website

SELCO Staff Report:  Reagen Thalacker

Scholarship Recipient Report:  Beverly Hall, Director – Wabasha Public Library  |  Ingvild Herfindahl, Director – Dodge Center Public Library  |  LaVonne Beach, Director – La Crescent Public Library  |  Patti Bross, Director – Lake City Public Library

2016-item-conferenceThe 2016 ITEM Conference — October 13-15: Conference Website

Scholarship Recipient Report:  Diane Yliniemi, Library Media Specialist – Rochester Public Schools: Sunset Terrace Elementary



2016 MLA ConferenceThe 2016 Minnesota Library Association (MLA) Conference — September 29-30: Conference Website

SELCO Staff Report:  Donovan Lambright  |  Jennifer Harveland  |  Reagen Thalacker

Scholarship Recipient Report:  Julie Clinefelter, Technical Services Librarian – Austin Public Library  |  Lezlea Dahlke, Library Director – Winona Public Library  |  Rachel Gray, Library Director – Van Horn Public Library  |  Ingvild Herfindahl, Library Director – Dodge Center Public Library